Home > How to > Error on VirtualBox: VT-x features locked or unavailable in MSR. (VERR_VMX_MSR_LOCKED_OR_DISABLED)

Error on VirtualBox: VT-x features locked or unavailable in MSR. (VERR_VMX_MSR_LOCKED_OR_DISABLED)

I recently got a Oracle VM Virtualbox appliance. After I imported it I got the following error when I tried to start it.

Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Fusion Middleware.

VT-x features locked or unavailable in MSR. (VERR_VMX_MSR_LOCKED_OR_DISABLED).

Result   Code: E_FAIL   (0×80004005)
Component: Console
Interface: IConsole   {db7ab4ca-2a3f-4183-9243-c1208da92392}

I did some googling and the suggested solution was to uncheck the Enable VT-x/AMD-V Hardware Virtualization settings (found in Settings> System>Acceleration). But since my virtual machine was 64-bits hardware virtualization is required. So if I disabled the Enable VT-x/AMD the virutal machine would not boot.

My problem was that virtualization settings on my pc were disabled. I have a Dell T5500. So I followed the following steps to activate my hardware virtualization settings:

  1. Reboot the pc. Press F12 when the boot process starts
  2. Select change settings
  3. Select Virtualization Support> Virtualization check the Enable Intel(R) Virtualization Technology

virtual1

  1. Select Virtualization Support > VT for Direct I/O check Enable Intel(R) VT for Direct I/O

virtual2

Now the virtual machine boot without any problem.

  1. alex
    September 26, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Thank you, it help me to make it work on my computer

  2. November 26, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    Thanks!

  3. February 14, 2014 at 1:00 am

    Got my virtual machine up and running thanks to this! Cheers!

  4. June 24, 2014 at 5:28 am

    Thanks luiscberrocal.You post help me lot.
    Cheers
    yours teja

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

